Taunton: Conservatives retain control in Somerset County Council elections

Profile image for abbie_taunton

By abbie_taunton | Friday, May 03, 2013, 09:13

Conservatives have retained control of Somerset County Council while the Taunton electorate voted predominantly Liberal Democrat in yesterday's elections.

28 Tory candidates won seats on the council, followed by 18 Liberal Democrats. Labour and UKIP won three each, and two seats were won for Independent candidates.

Liberal Democrats won seats in seven seats in the eleven Taunton divisions. The remaining seats went to Independent candidate Mike Rigby for Bishop's Lydeard, Conservative candidate James Hunt for Upper Tone, Conservative Candidate David Fothergill for Monkton & North Curry and Labour candidate Andrew Govier for the Welligton division.

In turn the Liberal Democrats won seats in Taunton South, Taunton North, Taunton East, Bishops Hull & Taunton West, Rowbarton & Staplegrove, Comeytrowe & Trull and Blackdown & Neroche

Voting turnouts varied from as high as 46 per cent in Comeytrowe and Trull to as low as 16 per cent in Bridgwater North and Central.

The election for the Coker division in south Somerset has been postponed for a fortnight following the death of a candidate.

Audrey Spencer, a former Chard town councillor, died at her home in Chard on Tuesday, April 2.

Mrs Spencer was standing as the UKIP candidate for the Coker Ward, near Yeovil.

South Somerset District Council confirmed that the election in the Coker division will be postponed until May 16.


Somerset County Council election results by division


Somerset County Council interactive map



max 4000 characters

Latest Stories in Taunton


Local Vouchers

  • Free Fitting

    Shuttercraft Somerset

    If you have just purchased a new build property and would like to install SCRAFT plantation shutters, we will install for free if you are the first property on the development to use us.

    Terms: Property must be less than 2yrs old, surrounding properties must not have shutters visibly installed. Free fitting on up to 7 windows.

    Contact: 01749 608714

    Valid until: Wednesday, December 24 2014

  • Did you know we're on Facebook?

    Orchid Lingerie & Bra Fitting Service

    We're getting bookings+orders made through Facebook & Twitter so don't miss out, join in :) www.facebook.com/orchidlangport or tweet us @orchidlangport

    Terms: Orders only taken online with previous customers to ensure the bra size and shape is right for you first so you don't waste your money! Appointments available evenings+weekends, call 07917 202906

    Contact: 07917 202906

    Valid until: Tuesday, March 31 2015


Local Jobs


Search for...

Min price is bigger than Max price
Min price is bigger than Max price
Min rent is bigger than Max rent